Dui Penalties in Florida

The punishment and sanctions for even a first DUI are harsh with long-lasting consequences. You need a DUI attorney with the proven experience, skill and tenacity to fight for the best results possible.

Contact DUI Defense Lawyers Tania Alavi and Andrew Pozzuto to discuss your DUI arrest in the Gainesville or Ocala, Florida area. Remember, time is of the essence.

CALL (352) 732-9191 OR EMAIL DUI LAWYERS WITH THE AP LAW GROUP TO PRESERVE YOUR RIGHTS TODAY.

DUI STATUTES AND PENALTIES

Florida Statute 316.193 define a range of DUI penalties and sanctions depending on the severity of the crime. Most DUI penalties are described in the chart below.

Please note: this chart does not include penalties for DUIs with aggravating circumstances such as a crash with damage to persons or property (1st Degree Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in Jail), or a crash with serious body injury or DUI Manslaughter (2nd Degree Felony, punishable by up to 15 years prison), or DUI Manslaughter Failure to Give Information or Render Aid (1st Degree Felony, punishable by up to 30 years in prison).

1ST DUI CONVICTION PENALTIES

Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty
Fine * $1,000 $2,000
* If BAC >= .15; Or a minor was in vehicle $2,000 $4,000
Probation One Day One Year
Jail Time * Ten Days Nine Months
* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle Ten Days Twelve Months
License Suspension Five Years
Impoundment 10 Days; 30 Days if Second DUI Within Three years
Ignition Interlock Device For a Minimum of One Year
Other Penalties
  • Completion of DUI Counterattack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.

2ND DUI CONVICTION PENALTIES

A conviction for 2nd DUI requires jail, installation of ignition interlock device and other severe penalties:

Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty
Fine * $1,000 $2,000
* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle $2,000 $4,000
Probation Six Months One Year
Jail Time * Day of Arrest Nine Months
* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle Day of Arrest Twelve Months
License Suspension Six Months One Year
Impoundment Mandatory Ten Day Period
Ignition Interlock Device For a Minimum of One Year
Other Penalties
  • Completion of approved DUI Counterattack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.

3RD DUI WITHIN TEN YEARS OF PRIOR CONVICTION (3rd Degree Felony).

Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty
Fine * $2,000 $5,000
* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle $4000 NO MAXIMUM
Probation One Year Five Years
Jail Time * Day of Arrest Five Years
* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle Day of Arrest Five Years
License Suspension Permanent Revocation
Impoundment Mandatory Ten Day Period
Ignition Interlock Device At Least Two Years
Other Penalties
  • Completion of approved DUI Counterattack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.

4TH DUI (3rd Degree Felony)

Minimum Penalty Maximum Penalty
Fine * $1,000 $5,000
* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle $4000 NO MAXIMUM
Probation One Day Five Years
Jail Time * Day of Arrest Five Years
* Enhanced Penalty if BAC greater than .15 or a minor in vehicle Day of Arrest Five Years
License Suspension Permanent Revocation
Impoundment Mandatory Ten Day Period
Ignition Interlock Device At Least Two Years
Other Penalties
  • Completion of approved DUI Counterattack School.
  • Substance abuse evaluation and completion of any recommended treatment.